Pulse Group Online

Home › Game profile

Game profile: Raid: Shadow Legends

What this page is

A profile assembled from what the game's publisher states, kept strictly apart from what it does not state. This is not the game's official site, and Pulse Group Online is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by its publisher. The link on this page is a paid affiliate link, described below and on our disclosure page.

Most pages about a widely advertised game blur two very different things: material that comes from the publisher, and material that comes from somewhere else — a forum, another affiliate page, or an assumption. This profile keeps them apart, because the second category is where inaccurate claims about games come from, and because a reader deciding whether to spend a year on something is entitled to know which is which.

What the publisher states

The following is drawn from the publisher's own description of the game, and nothing has been added to it.

Publisher description, in summary

  • It is a battle collection role-playing game, in the genre that combines collectable characters with tactical combat.
  • The player assembles an alliance of Champions and leads them through what the publisher describes as a brutal world.
  • Content named in the description includes challenging dungeons and Clan Boss fights.
  • There is a campaign described as sprawling and fully voiced, spanning twelve distinct locations.
  • The gameplay is described as tactical and player-versus-environment, with the publisher stating that team choices matter to the outcome.
  • The publisher positions it within the battle collection RPG genre as a cohesive experience of that kind.

That description tells you the shape of the game with reasonable clarity. Read against our decision framework, it describes a campaign-led structure — staged content you work through at your own pace — with roster-led systems behind it, since the collection and development of Champions is the stated core. Clan Boss content implies a group layer that is usually asynchronous in this genre, which suits an irregular week better than live scheduled content does.

What the publisher's description does not cover

This is the more useful half of the page, and it is the half that is almost always missing. The material we hold says nothing about any of the following, so this site states nothing about them either.

Open questions and where the answer actually lives
QuestionStatus hereWhere to get the answer
Price, or whether any part is free Not stated in the material we hold The vendor's own site and purchase screens
In-game purchases and what they contain Not stated The vendor's store pages, read with our cost method
Randomised draw probabilities Not stated The vendor's published probability information, where one exists
Australian classification and consumer advice Not stated; we do not repeat classifications second-hand Australian Classification Board
System requirements and desktop routes Not stated The vendor's own requirements page; see our desktop guide
Roster size, release cadence, event schedule Not stated The vendor's own site and in-game information
Account, data handling and refund policy Not stated The vendor's terms and privacy documents

Why the blanks stay blank

Filling them would be easy and would read better. It would also mean publishing claims about a product we cannot verify, in a market where misleading conduct in trade is prohibited and enforced against the publisher of the claim — this site — and not only against the advertiser. The ACCC administers that law. A blank row is an honest row.

The advertised action, described exactly

The arrangement behind the link on this page is specific, and it is worth knowing what it is before you use it, because it explains what we are being paid for.

  1. You follow the link It goes directly to the advertiser's destination. There is no redirect on this domain, no click gate and no interstitial; the address in the link is the address you go to, and your browser will show it.
  2. You register on the advertiser's page The registration is theirs, on their site, under their terms and their privacy policy. This site collects nothing at any point.
  3. You install the game and start the tutorial The publisher's stated action is completing registration, installing and launching the tutorial.
  4. A fixed fee is paid to this site That happens only at that point, it is a fixed amount, and it is the entire commercial relationship between us and the advertiser.

Questions worth answering before the tutorial rather than after

  • What does a monthly recurring purchase cost in Australian dollars, and what does twelve of them come to? Our worked example takes two minutes.
  • How is the title classified in Australia, and what does the consumer advice say? Check the Board, not a store listing.
  • What are the online and chat features, and what are their defaults? This decides most household questions.
  • What does the vendor say the desktop version needs, and which desktop route do they support?
  • Can the account be linked for recovery at the start, and does it offer multi-factor authentication?
  • Does the game publish draw probabilities, and does it offer a guaranteed result after a number of unsuccessful draws?

Six questions, all answerable from the vendor's own material, all easier to answer before an account exists than after a year of progress makes leaving expensive.

Reading a publisher description critically

A publisher summary is marketing, and reading it well means noticing its grammar rather than doubting its honesty. Three habits help, and they apply to any game in this genre rather than only this one.

Notice which nouns are countable. "Twelve locations" is a number a reader can hold a publisher to; "sprawling" is not, and neither is "challenging". Both kinds of word are legitimate, but only the first tells you anything you could check afterwards.

Notice what the description is silent about. A summary that names the campaign, the dungeons and the group content, and says nothing about how characters are acquired, has told you where the emphasis is meant to fall. That is not concealment — a short description cannot cover everything — but the silence is still information, and it marks the question to take to the vendor's own pages.

Notice the verbs describing the player. "Assemble", "lead" and "discover" describe a long game of accumulation and progression rather than a short one with an ending. Descriptions of finite experiences use different verbs, and the difference between the two is the single most useful thing a summary can tell you before you commit a year.

How we would describe the fit

On the publisher's own description, the game suits someone who wants a long campaign with voiced story content and enjoys building and upgrading a roster over months, playing at their own pace rather than to a schedule. It is less obviously suited to someone who wants a short, finite experience, or who dislikes randomised acquisition as a mechanic — though whether this particular title uses randomised acquisition, and on what terms, is one of the blanks above.

That is as far as an honest description reaches from a publisher summary. We have not played it under test conditions, we run no benchmarks, and we hold no review copy, so there is no assessment here dressed up as one.

Visiting the vendor

Paid link. Pulse Group Online is paid a fixed fee if you register through it, install the game and start the tutorial. It costs you nothing extra, and it did not shape a word of the profile above — including the seven blank rows.

Visit the Raid: Shadow Legends website

Raid: Shadow Legends is the property of its owner. This page describes it; it does not represent it.